The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Award of the Swedish Reichsbank: Nobel Prize for Economics goes to three poverty researchers


The Nobel Prize for economics will be awarded this year to the three poverty researchers Esther Duflo, Abhijit Banerjee and Michael Kremer.

The Nobel Prize for Economics is the only one of the Nobel Prizes that does not go back to the will of the original Founder of Honors, the dynamite inventor Alfred Nobel. Instead, it has been endowed by the Swedish Central Bank since the end of 1969, but has been awarded together with the other Nobel Prizes.

Like the other awards, he will receive a prize money of nine million Swedish kroner (about 830,000 euros) and will also be presented on Nobel's death day, 10th December.

photo gallery

14 pictures

Nobel prize winner for Economics: men, men, a woman

Since the first awarding of the business award in 1969, a total of 81 award winners have been honored so far, including the Bonn game theorist Reinhard Selten in 1994 as the only German to date. Among the winners so far was only one woman, the US professor Elinor Ostrom.

More soon on SPIEGEL ONLINE.

Source: spiegel

You may like

Trends 24h

Business 2020-07-07T00:09:11.184Z


business 2020/07/06    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy