Bayer Leverkusen became German champions for the first time in their history. The home win over Werder Bremen 5-0 was decisive thanks to goals from Boniface from a penalty (25'), Xhaka (60') and Wirtz (68', 83' and 90').

The team is still unbeaten and there is a big celebration in Leverkusan for a historic triumph after a dominated championship. Bayern trailed 16 points and whose hegemony in Germany was broken after several years. Before today there were only two titles in Bayer's trophy cabinet, won once each: the UEFA Cup in 1988 and the German Cup in 1993. The team are still unbeaten. The German champions are Bayern Munich, who are 16 points clear at the top of the table. The Bundesliga champions are Borussia Monchengladbach, who were beaten 3-1 by Eintracht Frankfurt in the semi-final. The final was played at the Allianz Arena in Berlin and finished 2-1 to Bayern.