The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

How to activate and deactivate a VPN?

2022-10-05T17:44:44.751Z

While it is possible to use a VPN all the time when you connect to the Internet, it is still essential to activate it properly p



Having a VPN can be very useful in many situations: you can use it to browse discreetly, to access geo-blocked content, to protect yourself from hackers... The advantages are very interesting .

However, many Internet users are hesitant to take the plunge and subscribe to a VPN service.

It is not the price that appears to be a blocking element, since the subscription costs only a few euros per month.

No, what worries them the most is not being able to use their VPN properly.

This concern could have been justified even a decade ago, at a time when the use of a VPN was mainly intended for people with solid computer knowledge.

But today, this fear no longer has any reason to be, because the use of the VPN has been widely democratized to all categories of Internet users, even the most novice in the field.

This is due to the development of software and applications that are particularly easy to use.

If you're still in doubt, let us explain how the vast majority of VPN apps work.

Take advantage of an incredible

NordVPN offer right now

How to activate a VPN?

The first step is, of course, to install the VPN software you subscribe to on your computer, or opt for the mobile application that corresponds to your device.

If you have an iPhone or iPad, search the Apple App Store to find the app for iOS.

If you have an Android smartphone or tablet, the Google Play Store is the place to look.

Note that this approach is also valid if you want to install your VPN on your television connected to Android TV.

When the application is installed, it is necessary to log in.

The vast majority of paid VPNs allow you to be connected to several devices at the same time, which is useful for securing the connection of your entire installation or even the smartphones of the whole family.

Once you have entered your credentials, you have two choices for logging in.

The fast connection: this is the one to be preferred if your objective is simply to enjoy total anonymity when using your VPN.

By choosing this function, you are automatically connected to a server located in a foreign country.

You don't have to do anything else to enjoy a secure connection.

Personalized connection: in this context, you choose in which country you wish to be connected.

This means that if you choose an American server, you will be identified on the network with an American IP address.

This can be useful if you want to use a streaming service and take advantage of its foreign catalog, or if you want to compare the prices of a travel site by identifying yourself as living in another country.

It only takes a few extra seconds to choose the most appropriate country to connect to.

How to use the VPN once connected?

When your VPN is on, you can choose to continue using your Internet connection just as usual.

Whether you are connected to Wi-Fi, 4G or 5G, it does not change anything for you, except that your connection is completely anonymous and that no one, not even your Internet service provider, knows what what you do online.

However, you can take advantage of this to make purchases on the Internet, sometimes benefiting from more attractive prices, depending on the country in which you are identified.

For example, it may be particularly advantageous to geolocate yourself in a country where the standard of living is lower than yours to take advantage of lower airfares.

Airlines tend to adjust their prices according to the countries where they sell their services and this can be very interesting.

If you subscribe to an SVOD platform such as Netflix or Amazon Prime Video, you can access the catalogs offered in foreign countries by connecting to them using your VPN.

This approach also works on a connected television with an interface under Disney+.

You can thus enjoy recent films, which are not always available in France due to the chronology of the media found there.

The American catalog of Netflix and consorts is generally the most extensive.

Generally speaking, it is highly recommended to use your VPN whenever you can.

If you have a paid offer, the speed is generally unlimited, which means that nothing prevents you from remaining permanently connected.

However, if you want to deactivate your VPN, the procedure is also very simple.

How to disable a VPN?

Whether you are connected on a computer (PC or Mac), smartphone or tablet (iOS or Android), you always have a notification icon that tells you that you are connected to your VPN.

You just need to click on it to get access to disable VPN option.

You don't have to do anything else to disconnect: the process is transparent, and no Internet connection interruption is to be expected.

However, keep in mind that once you turn off your VPN, you are no longer anonymous on the Internet.

Therefore, care should be taken to close sensitive windows and programs before logging off.

Have you found the best VPN?

Among the various VPN platforms available on the market, NordVPN is among those that offer one of the best experiences.

NordVPN provides its customers with an ultra-fast connection speed and an unlimited amount of data, for use of its services which can be permanent.

Over 5500 servers are available in 59 countries, which is particularly useful for accessing content that is normally geo-blocked.

In addition, NordVPN does not store any browsing data, which ensures complete anonymity.

NordVPN offers three subscription plans that are worthwhile if you sign up with a two-year commitment.

If you just want the VPN, virus protection and ad blocker, you can upgrade to the Essential plan which costs $3.49 per month on a two-year subscription. .

The Advanced subscription at 4.29 euros per month allows you to benefit, in addition, from a cross-platform password manager and a vulnerability scanner.

Finally, with the Ultimate subscription at 5.49 euros per month, you also have a secure storage space of 1 TB in the NordVPN cloud.

Each NordVPN account allows you to use the service on six devices at the same time.

Software and applications are available on Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, Firefox, Android TV, Edge and Chrome.

Finally, you benefit from a 30-day money-back guarantee from the date of your subscription.

Discover

the good NordVPN plan here

Source: leparis

All life articles on 2022-10-05

You may like

Life/Entertain 2022-10-05T17:44:44.751Z
Life/Entertain 2022-09-28T17:42:11.154Z

Trends 24h

Life/Entertain 2022-11-25T15:44:02.647Z

Latest

© Communities 2019 - Privacy