The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Ronaldo, Messi, Morgan and Rapinoe: the nominees for the 2019 FIFA Best Awards


The Best awards that highlight the most outstanding football figures will be delivered on September 23 at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan.

  • Click to share on Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  • Click to share on Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Click here to share on LinkedIn (Opens in a new window)
  • Click to email a friend (Opens in a new window)

(CNN Spanish) - The International Federation of Associated Football (FIFA) released the list of nominees for the Best FIFA Football Awards, which highlights the most prominent figures in this sport this year, which will be delivered on September 23 at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Dutchman Virgil van Dijk were nominated for the best male player award, while Americans Alex Morgan, Meghan Rapinoe and England's Lucy Bronze are nominated as best FIFA players.

Several Latin Americans are nominated in different categories, such as Brazilians Alisson Becker and Ederson, who compete for the title to the best goalkeeper and Chile's Christiane Endler, nominated for best goalkeeper in women's football.

  • READ: The story of the 'lonely fan', the Chilean nominated for the 2018 FIFA Best Awards

In addition, Argentine Lionel Messi and Colombian Juan Fernando Quintero are nominated for the FIFA Puskás award that rewards the best goal of the year. Messi competes with a goal he made in La Liga playing with Barcelona against Real Betis, in March 2019, and Quintero, with a goal he made to Racing Club in an Argentine Super League match in February this year.

Argentina's Mauricio Pochettino, coach of Argentina and Totthenham, also competes for one of FIFA's The Best awards.

Finally, two Latin American fans, a mother from Brazil and a Uruguayan father, compete for the FIFA Hobby Award.

These are the nominees:

The Best FIFA Player Award

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus)
Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona)
Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands / Liverpool)

The Best Award to the FIFA Player

Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique de Lyon)
Alex Morgan (US / Orlando Pride)
Megan Rapinoe (US / Reign FC)

The Best Award to the FIFA Men's Soccer Coach

Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City)
Jürgen Klopp (Germany / Liverpool)
Mauricio Pochettino (Argentina / Tottenham)

  • READ: They are “The Best” of FIFA 2018: Ronaldo, Zidane, Buffon, Martens and more

The Best Award to the FIFA Women's Soccer Coach

Jill Ellis (US / US selection)
Phil Neville (England / English national team)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award

Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool)
Ederson (Brazil / Manchester City)
Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Germany / Barcelona)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award

Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain)
Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / Chelsea / VfL Wolfsburg)
Sari van Veenendaal (Netherlands / Arsenal / Atlético de Madrid)

FIFA Puskás Award

Lionel Messi (ARG): Real Betis vs. FC Barcelona [LaLiga] (March 17, 2019)
Juan Fernando Quintero (COL): River Plate vs. Racing Club [Argentine Super League] (February 10, 2019)
Dániel Zsóri (HUN): Debrecen FC against Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskág I] (February 16, 2019)

FIFA Hobby Award

Silvia Grecco: the Brazilian mom who tells her blind son football matches.
Fan of the Netherlands: for incredible performance by Dutch fans at the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019.
Justo Sánchez: the Uruguayan father who does not miss a match in memory of his late son.

This last category rewards “outstanding moments or gestures starring fans” and is chosen by public vote on the FIFA web portal.

In the 2018 version of these awards, Croatian Luka Modric, runner-up of the World Cup with his selection and champion of the Champions League with Real Madrid, was chosen the best player of the year; Brazilian Marta was chosen the best player. Peruvian fans won the 2018 Amateur Award and the Egyptian Mohamed Salah won the Puskás award for the best goal of the year.

FIFAP Puskás Award

Source: cnnespanol

You may like

News/Politics 2019-09-23T20:16:35.699Z
News/Politics 2019-09-24T01:31:47.290Z
Sports 2019-09-23T20:16:53.304Z

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2019-11-13T08:58:52.452Z
News/Politics 2019-11-13T04:11:04.288Z
News/Politics 2019-11-12T23:25:52.345Z


© Communities 2019 - Privacy