The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

The Best: what you should know about the award given by FIFA


FIFA will present The Best award on January 17. Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowki and Mohamed Salah are finalists.

Messi points to another award: The Best 1:05

(CNN Spanish) --

FIFA will present The Best award for the best player of the year in the men's branch on January 17.

Of the initial 11 nominees, there are three finalists: Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski and Mohamed Salah.

The Argentine star, former FC Barcelona player and now with Paris Saint-Germain in France, won the Ballon d'Or in November. Will he win this new award?

This is what you should know about this edition of The Best.

When is?

The award ceremony for The Best will be on January 17, 2022 at 1 pm (Miami time).

It will take place in Zurich and will be hosted by Reshmin Chowdhury and Jermaine Jenas, according to FIFA.

How to see it?

It can be viewed live on the FIFA website and the official FIFA YouTube channel.

How does FIFA choose The Best player?

The federation indicates that it votes with an international jury "composed of the current coaches of all the men's national teams, the current captains of all the men's national teams and a specialized journalist from each territory represented by a national team."

In addition, FIFA takes into account the vote of fans registered on


Specifically, what is taken into consideration is sports performance during the period between October 8, 2020 and August 7, 2021.

Who aspires to the prize in this edition?

In the men's branch:

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern München), Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool FC).

Mo Salah photographed in 2018. Credit: Dan Istitene/Getty Images

In the women's branch:

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain, FC Barcelona), Sam Kerr (Australia, Chelsea FC), Alexia Putellas (Spain, FC Barcelona).

Men's goalkeeper:

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy, AC Milan and current Paris Saint-Germain), Édouard Mendy (Senegal, Chelsea FC), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern München).

Women's goalkeeper:

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany, Chelsea FC), Christiane Endler (Chile, Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique de Lyon), Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (Canada, C Rosengård / Paris Saint-Germain).


Pep Guardiola (Spain, Manchester City), Roberto Mancini (Italy, Italy National Team), Thomas Tuchel (Germany, Chelsea FC).

Women's team coach:

Lluís Cortés (Spain, FC Barcelona), Emma Hayes (England, Chelsea FC), Sabrina Wiegman, (Netherlands, Netherlands National Team / England National Team).

And Cristiano Ronaldo, what?

Although he is not among the finalists of this edition, he is one of the previous winners of The Best award.

Previous winners in the men's category are: Lionel Messi (2016 and 2019), Cristiano Ronaldo (2017), Luka Modric (2018) and Robert Lewandowski (2020).

Portraits of the finalists for The Best in 2020 award. Credit: VALERINO DI DOMENICO/POOL/AFP via Getty Images

FIFA The BestLionel MessiMohamed SalahRobert Lewandowski

Source: cnnespanol

All news articles on 2022-01-14

Similar news:

You may like

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2022-05-16T14:44:35.568Z
News/Politics 2022-05-17T08:15:44.475Z


© Communities 2019 - Privacy