The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Greece: 5 earthquake on the island of Evia, no casualties

2022-11-29T21:39:52.571Z

An earthquake with a magnitude of 5 was recorded on Tuesday evening November 29 on the Greek island of Euboea, 56km northeast of Athens,...



An earthquake with a magnitude of 5 was recorded Tuesday evening November 29 on the Greek island of Euboea, 56km northeast of Athens, according to the Geodynamic Observatory of Athens.

No injuries or damage have been reported so far, according to local media.

The earthquake, whose epicenter is located east of the island of Euboea and at a depth of 9 km, took place at 8:06 p.m. GMT (9:06 p.m. in France), according to the same source.

It was particularly felt on the island and in Attica, agglomeration of Athens, according to local media.

This is the fourth and strongest earthquake to have occurred on Tuesday and recorded with the same epicenter in Euboea: the first earthquake of 4.8 was recorded at 04:32 GMT (5:32 in France) followed by two others of 4, 1 and 4.2 respectively almost an hour later (05:23 and 05:24 GMT).

Read alsoGlobal warming: the first warnings from the end of the 1950s

Located on several geological fault lines, Greece is regularly hit by earthquakes which sometimes cause casualties and material damage.

In October 2021, a 6.3 earthquake on the island of Crete caused material damage but no victims.

But in October 2020, a magnitude 7 earthquake in the Aegean Sea killed two people on the Greek island of Samos and more than 100 in the nearby coastal city of Izmir in Turkey.

Source: lefigaro

All news articles on 2022-11-29

You may like

News/Politics 2023-01-25T14:03:28.852Z
News/Politics 2023-01-16T06:09:42.691Z
News/Politics 2022-12-15T05:11:59.427Z

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2023-02-02T17:18:29.401Z

Latest

© Communities 2019 - Privacy