The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Peruvian writer Gustavo Rodríguez won the 2023 Alfaguara Novel Prize


'One hundred guinea pigs', the award-winning work in this edition, endowed with 175 thousand dollars, will reach Spanish-speaking bookstores on March 23.

The Peruvian writer Gustavo Rodríguez won the XXVI

Alfaguara Novel Prize,

 endowed with $175,000, as announced from Madrid this Thursday at noon in a virtual conference for Spanish-speaking countries.

His book is titled

One Hundred Guinea Pigs


The award is also endowed with a sculpture by Martín Chirino and

simultaneous publication throughout the Spanish-speaking territory.

The winning novel of this edition will arrive in bookstores on March 23.

In this edition, a total of

706 manuscripts

from Spain, Latin America and the United States were submitted to the contest.

This is one of the most important literary prizes awarded to an unpublished work written in Spanish, to which 296 manuscripts from Spain, 112 from Argentina, 99 from Mexico, 81 from Colombia, 43 from the United States, 28 from Chile, 27 from Peru and 20 from Uruguay.

The jury of the Alfaguara Award.


Chaired by the Argentine writer Claudia Piñeiro,

the jury will also be made up of the Spanish journalist and writer Javier Rodríguez Marcos,

the Argentine editor and translator Carolina Orloff,

the bookseller of Letras Corsarias (Salamanca), Rafael Arias García;

the Spanish writer Juan Tallón and the editorial director of Alfaguara, Pilar Reyes (with voice but no vote).

The Chilean-Argentine Cristian Alarcón, with

El tercer paraíso

(2022), the Colombian

Pilar Quintana

, with

Los abismos

(2021), and the Mexican

Guillermo Arriaga

, with

Salvar el fuego

(2020), have been the winners of the last three editions of this award.

Peruvian writer Gustavo Rodríguez.


About the prize

This award, founded in 1964, had as its first winners back in 1998 the Cuban Eliseo Alberto, for 

Caracol Beach

, and

the Nicaraguan Sergio Ramírez,


Margarita está linda la mar


Over the years, it has been won by, among others, 

Elena Poniatowska, Laura Restrepo, Manuel Vincent and the Peruvian Santiago Roncagliolo.

Among the Argentines, it was obtained by

Tomás Eloy Martínez


El vuelo de la reina


Graciela Montes


Ema Wolf

(as co-authors) for

El turno del escriba


Andrés Neuman


The Traveler of the Century


Leopoldo Brizuela


Una misma noche


Eduardo Sacheri


La noche de la usina

(2016) made into a film as

La odisea de los giles



Patricio Pron,


Tomorrow we will have other names




look also

Immersive journey into the intimate universe of Frida Kahlo

The 90 years of Susan Sontag, the "Miss Librarian" who carried as a flag to be located on "the sidewalk across the street"

Source: clarin

All news articles on 2023-01-19

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.