The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

South America's candidacy for the 2030 World Cup was made official: "We dream of hosting it again"


Chiqui Tapia received the main leaders of the continent to present the project that Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Chile and Bolivia share?

The governments and soccer federations of

Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile

launched on Tuesday the official candidacy to host the

2030 World Cup

, a year that will coincide with the centenary of the first World Cup in Montevideo.

"We dream of hosting this Cup again in its


. All South Americans have a lot of passion, we live soccer that way," said

Claudio Tapia

, host of the leadership meeting at the complex that Argentine soccer has in Ezeiza.

"We are convinced that FIFA

has the obligation

to honor (by granting the venue in 2024) the memory of those who organized the first World Cup," said Conmebol president

Alejandro Domínguez


Uruguay was the first world champion, with a 4-2 victory over Argentina in the final at the then brand new Centenario stadium in Montevideo.

Argentina is the last champion, beating France (3-3 draw and 4-2 on penalties) in the Qatar-2022 final.

Other candidates listed in the race for the organization of the 2030 World Cup are Spain-Portugal (with an invitation to Ukraine), Morocco and Saudi Arabia-Egypt-Greece.

The next world cup will be held in the United States-Mexico-Canada.

Of the 32 current participants, the number of competitors from the group stage will be increased to 48.

Source: clarin

All news articles on 2023-02-07

Similar news:

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.