The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

World Cup 2030: Alberto Fernández proposed adding Bolivia as the venue for the South American candidacy


It was minutes before the start of an event organized in Ezeiza to relaunch the project carried out by Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile.


Alberto Fernández

proposed this Tuesday that


join the candidacy to organize the

2030 World Cup

, which is already shared by

Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile


"Our #Argentina National Team brought the World Cup to our continent and it would be a great joy if, 100 years later, the World Cup returns to where it all began: #South America. This candidacy is from the entire continent. For this reason, I would like and I will propose that our sister country #Bolivia be part of this dream," he wrote on his Twitter account.

The president made this publication to coincide with the celebration, this Tuesday, at the premises of the Argentine Football Association (AFA), in Ezeiza, of the assembly of the

Juntos 2030 Corporation

, which is dedicated to promoting and developing the South American candidacy.

The president of the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol), Alejandro Domínguez, leads this meeting of the entity presented last November in Chile, now under the impetus of the world title achieved by Argentina in the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

Although, apparently, the inclusion of Bolivia in

the candidacy was not on the table

, in recent statements made in Argentina, the former president of that country

Evo Morales

said that he had obtained the support of Fernández to be considered.

The former Bolivian president (2006-2019) requested at that time the support of the current president of his country,

Luis Arce

, to undertake the necessary investments to fulfill this football dream.

So far, only 5 of the 22 World Cups played have been held in South America: Uruguay 1930, Brazil 1950, Chile 1962, Argentina 1978 and Brazil 2014.

Of those 22 appointments, on ten occasions the victory was for a team from the region: Uruguay (1930 and 1950), Argentina (1978, 1986 and 2022) and Brazil (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002).

Centennial World Conference 2030 Photo AUF

On August 2, 2022, at the Centenario Stadium in Montevideo, the scene of the first World Cup final, Domínguez presented together with the Sports headlines of the four countries the so-called

"Mundial Centenario"

, as a tribute to the 1930 event.

Subsequently, in November, the

Juntos 2030 Corporation

was launched in

Santiago de Chile

, a "non-profit private law" entity, as it was established at that time.

In said act, it was established that the Argentine assembly, which was to be convened in 90 days, would establish "a permanent board of directors."

At the moment, the South American candidacy competes with that of

Spain and Portugal

, countries that recently invited


to join a project that UEFA supports.

In addition,

Greece, Egypt and Saudi Arabia

have shown their interest in organizing the World Cup, although the candidacy has not been formalized.

FIFA must make its decision on the venue of the 2030 World Cup known at the 2024 Congress.

Source: EFE

Source: clarin

All news articles on 2023-02-07

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.