The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Why Lionel Messi is the favorite to win FIFA's 'The Best' award


The man from Rosario competes with Mbappé and Benzema to establish himself as the best of the year. In addition, Scaloni could be crowned with the Best Coach award, Dibu Martínez competes for the goalkeeper and even the Argentine fans could be decorated.

Proclaimed world champion with Argentina, Lionel Messi is the great favorite to win the award for best player at the FIFA 'The Best' awards ceremony on Monday in Paris.

The PSG superstar (35 years old) finally conquered with his country the supreme title that was missing from his illustrious record and is the best placed to obtain the favor of the jury, made up of coaches, national team captains and journalists, as well as by the public vote online.

In the event of winning the award, Messi would achieve that distinction for the third time in his career, after 2009 and 2019, and would succeed Polish striker Robert Lewandowski, the current double winner in 2020 and 2021.

The seven-time Ballon d'Or will compete with two Frenchmen, his fellow Parisian Kylian Mbappé and Karim Benzema.

The former, top scorer in the 2022 World Cup with 8 goals, left his mark in the World Cup final with a hat-trick for the legend despite the defeat suffered on penalties against Albiceleste (3-3; 4-2 in penalties).

Benzema, for his part, was the great architect of Real Madrid's 14th Champions League, the fifth of his career, and comes endorsed by his conquest of the last Ballon d'Or.

The World Cup in Qatar could be the decisive element of a gala that will take place in the Sala Pleyel in the French capital, and allow the Argentine coach Lionel Scaloni to win the


for best coach, although the forecasts are more uncertain given the competition from Italian Carlo Ancelotti, winner of the Champions League with Real Madrid.

The Spanish Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) is the other nominated coach.

Scaloni competes with heavyweights like Guardiola and Ancelotti. Photo: Fernando de la Orden

Emiliano Martínez

's decisive saves

in the World Cup final penalty session make the Argentine a possible winner of the best goalkeeper award, but the Aston Villa player could be hurt by his obscene celebration at the end of the match, at the moment of receiving his trophy for the best goalkeeper of the tournament, and for his numerous provocations, especially with Mbappé for the purpose of them, during the title celebration in Argentina.

Dibu was the protagonist of key saves for Argentina to win the World Cup. Photo: Fernando de la Orden

Nor will it be easy against the Belgian Thibaut Courtois, who multiplied his saves in the Champions League final with Real Madrid, and against the keeper of the goal for Sevilla and Morocco (semifinalist in the World Cup) Yassine Bounou.

As if that were not enough, Argentina is nominated for Best Supporters at The Best awards.

The motives?

On the one hand, all the fans who flocked to Qatar and accompanied La Scaleneta on their way to the title and, on the other, the millions who filled the streets in every corner of the country to celebrate each victory and burst with emotion when they lifted the Cup.

From the official FIFA website they maintained: "The trip from Argentina to Qatar is not exactly short, but the fans of the albiceleste came to Doha in large numbers since the start of the championship to support Lionel Messi in his last attempt to win the only trophy that remained elusive until then".

The prizes for women's football

In the women's category, the Spanish Alexia Putellas, holder of the title and Ballon d'Or 2022, can revalidate her crown, but the FC Barcelona midfielder will face Beth Mead, European champion last year with England, and the American Alex Morgan, the latter in the background in the bets.

Among the coaches, the French Sonia Bompastor, who won the Women's Champions League with Lyon, the Brazil coach Pia Sundhage, and Sarina Wiegman, England coach, are the three finalists.

The prize for the best archer will be played between the German Ann-Katrin Berger, the English Mary Earps and the Chilean Christiane Endler.

For the Puskas award for the best goal of the year, the nominees are the Polish Marcin Oleksy, soccer player with one leg amputated (Warta Poznan-Stal Rzeszow), the Frenchman from Olympique de Marseille Dimitri Payet, and the Brazilian Richarlison, thanks to his goal in the Brazil-Serbia of the last World Cup in Qatar.

Source: clarin

All news articles on 2023-02-27

Similar news:

You may like

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2023-06-07T07:32:21.218Z


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.