The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

President Herzog, the number 1 citizen of the state of Tel Aviv - voila! native


A tradition that began 100 years ago, next week the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Jaffa will award an honorary citizenship to the country's President Yitzhak Herzog

The city of Tel Aviv-Yafo has been in the habit for 100 years, since 1923, of awarding honorary citizenship degrees every few years to women and prominent people with impressive achievements and a special contribution to the country or the city.

Among the important personalities who won it in their lifetime are Baron Rothschild, Haim Nachman Bialik, Henrietta Sold and many more, with the first honorary citizen to win the title being Prof. Albert Einstein when he came to visit the city.

The title is given once per term, to prominent personalities, who, thanks to their work, have contributed to the city or the country, and thus constitute a significant pillar in the Israeli value-oriented work in all its fields.

Next week, the Municipality of Tel Aviv-Jaffa will award the honorable title of "Honorary Citizenship" in a celebratory ceremony to be held at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art: Yitzhak

Herzog, President of the State of Israel

Sharona Gil-ed Harish, founder of the association "Leshuva"

Esther Roth Shahmarov, Israeli athlete

Dorit Binish, President Retired Supreme Court

The mandate to form the government

The President of the State, Yitzhak Herzog entrusts Netanyahu with the formation of the government at the President's residence (Photo: Reuven Castro)

So far, the city of Tel Aviv-Jaffa has awarded the title to 81 people, including Albert Einstein, Baron Rothschild and Lord Balfour, former presidents Robbie Rivlin, Yitzhak Navon, Ezer Weizman and Shimon Peres, former prime ministers Yitzhak Rabin and Golda Meir, the conductor Zobin Mahatta, the actresses Hana Rubina, Hana Maron and Orna Porat, Prof. Ada Yonat and many more.

Mayor of Tel Aviv-Jaffa Ron Huldai: "The first Hebrew city of Tel Aviv-Jaffa is honored with five new and very deserving honorary citizens. I feel great pride in the privilege that has fallen to my lot to award the title to the president of the state Yitzhak Herzog, on behalf of the residents of the city, to the founders of an association" To Shova" Sharona and Gil-Ad Harish, to the athlete Esther Roth Shahmarov and the retired President of the Supreme Court Dorit Binish. Our city deserves to be blessed with such honorable citizens and citizens."

  • native

  • news


  • Tel Aviv Jaffa

  • Yitzhak Herzog

  • Ron Huldai

Source: walla

All news articles on 2023-03-06

You may like

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2023-05-30T04:13:12.229Z


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.