The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Referee Baliño's explanation of why he did not penalize Boca at the end of the defeat against Instituto


In a hot definition in the Bombonera, the VAR called for a clash between the goalkeeper Carranza and the Uruguayan Merentiel, but the judge did not consider it an offense.

It was, without a doubt, the controversy of what has been played on the eighth date of the Professional League.

Because it was at La Bombonera, it meant the chance that


could tie an uphill game against


, and that clash between goalkeeper

Jorge Carranza

and striker

Miguel Merentiel

caused the fans to explode and the VAR call, with which the Referee

Jorge Baliño

disagreed to maintain his decision not to penalize.

"I did not charge a penalty because Merentiel plays the ball free and the contact occurs later, when the ball was leaving the field of play. Nothing prevents him from playing the ball," Baliño argued

about the play of contention, which occurred in the fifth minute meeting discount.

And, in statements to TyC Sports, he added: 

"The VAR called me because it considered it a penalty. I see a natural contact of the game that occurs when Merentiel is falling

. "


look also

Hugo Ibarra and a hard week that ended in the worst way and with another defeat for Boca: "We were not up to it"

The controversy of the end in Boca - Instituto: was it a Carranza penalty against Merentiel?

Adrián Martínez, the Instituto striker who was imprisoned and scored against Boca in La Bombonera

Source: clarin

All news articles on 2023-03-20

You may like

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.