The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

The 'anti Dibu Martínez' rule was made official: what it says and when it will come into force


The International Board published changes in the regulation, among which is the prohibition of distracting the executor of a penalty.

This Friday, the International Board published some regulatory changes that will be in force in soccer

as of July 1

of this year and one of the modifications is a clear reaction against

Emiliano Martínez

: it refers to the behavior of the goalkeeper in front of the executor of a penalty.

"The goalkeeper must remain on his own goal line, between the two goal posts but without touching these, the crossbar or the net, and in front of the kicker until the ball is hit. The goalkeeper will not behave in a

manner that distracts the kicker in an illegal way

. For example, it will not delay the execution of the penalty or touch the posts, the crossbar or the net of the goal", the article indicates.

The article of the International Board.

And it continues like this: "It is clarified that, with his conduct,

the goalkeeper will not disrespect football or the opponent

. For example, distracting the kicker in an illegal manner."

How is this translated?

Now a goalkeeper will not be able to throw the ball away from the kicker before taking the maximum penalty, or talk to the referee or kicker before kicking off.

Martínez in the penalty save to Yerry Mina.

Here it is worth remembering that Dibu had some behaviors that sought to distract the executors of penalties.

For example: in the 2021 Copa América semifinal against Colombia, he told Yerry Mina

"look what I eat, brother

. "

Already in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, he used distraction strategies against the Netherlands, in the quarterfinals, and in the remembered definition against France that ended in the third star for the National Team.

more changes

The International Board also ruled that "in a penalty shootout, warnings and reprimands imposed on players and coaching staff during the match will not be taken into account."

This means that

if a footballer was carrying a warning and commits a yellow offense in the penalty shootout, he will not be sent off

, but will receive another yellow.

In addition, the IB announced that if a person invades the field of play during a goal,

that goal will only be disallowed if that individual interfered with play


In this it is worth remembering that in Dibu's save to Kolo Muani in the World Cup final there was an image that showed that some French substitutes had stepped on the field before the shot.

For this reason, the debate was installed that, in the case of having been a goal, the referee could have annulled it.

With this new regulation, it is already known that the goal should not be invalidated.

And the IB also explained

in which situations a defender who commits an offense inside his area must be penalized after the penalty

if it is a clear goal situation.

It will be yellow if the foul is in the dispute for the ball.

Otherwise, "grabbing, pulling, pushing, inability to play the ball, etc.), the offender will be sent off."

look too

Lionel Messi has his own "Heroes": FIFA launched "Era el destino", the film of the World Cup in Qatar 2022

What happened to Papu Gómez: why he was not at the Argentine National Team party at the Monumental and what was De Paul's explanation

Source: clarin

All news articles on 2023-03-25

You may like

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.