Lionel Messi had to leave the pitch in stoppage time
Photo: CRISTINA QUICLER / AFP
Title celebration for the outsider: FC Barcelona missed their 14th success in the Spanish Supercup.
In the final in Seville, Barcelona lost to Athletic Bilbao 2: 3 (2: 2, 1: 1) after extra time despite a double lead.
Lionel Messi saw the red card shortly before the final whistle (120th + 1 minute).
Antoine Griezmann had given Barcelona the lead twice (40th, 77th), Óscar de Marcos (42nd) equalized just before the break, Asier Villalibre (90th) saved Bilbao in extra time.
Three minutes had been played in extra time when Iñaki Williams hit the 3-2 winning goal with a flick (90 + 3).
Barcelona failed to score in the remaining half an hour.
Instead, superstar Messi was thrown off the pitch.
In dribbling, Messi wanted to keep his opponent Villalibre away and hit the Bilbao professional with his fist.
The video referee intervened, after the consultation, referee Jesús Gil Manzano decided on the dismissal.
In the 753rd competitive game for FC Barcelona, Messi saw a red card for the first time.
Fourth title for Bilbao
Bilbao has now won the Supercup four times, and in 2015 Bilbao also defeated FC Barcelona.
Bilbao had already prevailed against Real Madrid in the semifinals.
Barcelona made it into the final thanks to two saves from Ter Stegen on penalties against Real Sociedad San Sebastian.
A total of four teams have qualified for the Supercup in Spain since 2019 - in addition to the two cup finalists, the champions and the runner-up.
If they have also reached the cup final, the best-placed team in the league moves up.
Icon: The mirror
ptz / sid / dpa