FIFA may punish Portugal star following his outburst, after the winning goal he scored against Serbia was not approved • Dutch referee: "I apologized to the coach and Portuguese players"
Ronaldo pours his wrath on the Kwon
Cristiano Ronaldo could be penalized by FIFA following his outburst in Portugal's 2-2 draw with Serbia, after the winning goal he scored in extra time was not approved by the referee.
According to the Italian Corriere dello Sport, FIFA could punish the Portuguese national team star if they find the incident during which he slipped the captain's armband on the grass and rage towards the referee, as "offensive or violent".
Meanwhile, Dutch referee Danny McLee who did not confirm Ronaldo's goal spoke to the Portuguese media today and apologized: "According to FIFA policy, all I can say is that I apologized to national team coach Fernando Santos, and to the national team players for what happened.
The judging panel always works hard to make good decisions. "
Portugal and Ronaldo will be hosted tomorrow (Tuesday, 21:45) by Luxembourg and will try to recover from the storm against Serbia, and return to the winning track in the third round of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers.