The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Euro 2021: who won the last edition?


Five years after Euro 2016 in France, the best European selections meet for Euro 2021. Portugal, winner at the end of

Éder. Four letters are enough to recall a French disillusionment at home. On July 10, 2016, the then substitute striker at LOSC offered Euro 2016 to Portugal. The supporters of the France team (and those of Portugal obviously) will long remember this 120-minute long final, a moment chosen by the irrational to invade a stunned Stade de France. At the heart of the second overtime period (109th minute), Éder unleashed a heavy strike from 25 meters, and drew tears at Cristiano Ronaldo, who was injured early in the game. Portugal, who led in the score for just 73 minutes throughout the competition, won their first major title that night.

If this united and disciplined team has been able to afford such an epic, it is in part thanks to the new format of the Euro, which has gone from 16 to 24 teams.

Third in their group with three draws (1-1 against Iceland, 0-0 against Austria and 3-3 against Hungary), the Portuguese led the score for 19 minutes at the opening, then 3 minutes against Croatia, a favorite eliminated in the 117th minute at the stage of the round of 16.

In the quarterfinals, against Poland, Fernando Santos' men did not lead the slightest second, before benefiting from a 40-minute advantage against Wales in the semi-finals, then 11 minutes in this famous final against the France team.

The two selections will meet in the group stage for this 16th edition.

The Euro winners:

  • 1960 (in France): Soviet Union

  • 1964 (in Spain): Spain

  • 1968 (in Italy): Italy

  • 1972 (in Belgium): West Germany

  • 1976 (in Yugoslavia): Czechoslovakia

  • 1980 (in Italy): West Germany (2nd title)

  • 1984 (in France): France

  • 1988 (in West Germany): Netherlands

  • 1992 (in Sweden): Denmark

  • 1996 (in England): Germany (3rd title)

  • 2000 (in Belgium and the Netherlands): France (2nd title)

  • 2004 (in Portugal): Greece

  • 2008 (in Austria and Switzerland): Spain (2nd title)

  • 2012 (in Poland and Ukraine): Spain (3rd title)

  • 2016 (in France): Portugal

Source: leparis

All sports articles on 2021-05-08

You may like

News/Politics 2021-06-22T20:58:48.363Z

Trends 24h

Sports 2021-06-25T03:57:36.940Z


© Communities 2019 - Privacy