The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Super League: Barcelona, ​​Real and Juventus face UEFA penalties


Nine clubs have given up plans for a Super League. The financially troubled clubs from Madrid, Barcelona and Turin stay with them - and are now being attacked by Uefa.

Enlarge image

Sergio Ramos, Real Madrid captain


Alastair Grant / AP

The European Football Union Uefa has tightened its threat against the remaining three founding members of the failed Super League. The association announced on Friday evening that all rights were reserved to take appropriate action and that the matter would be passed on to the relevant UEFA disciplinary bodies. Of the original twelve founding members, Real Madrid, FC Barcelona and Juventus Turin have so far not given up their ambitions for a Super League. The Uefa left open the possible concrete consequences.

The other nine founding members of the league that competed with the Champions League, however, made a declaration that they would continue to take part in UEFA’s European Cup competitions.

These nine clubs would have accepted "that the Super League project was a mistake," it said in the message.

The clubs will make a donation of 15 million euros for children's, youth and amateur football and will also make five percent of their earnings from the European Cup available for redistribution for one season.

"Since they accept their commitment and are willing to repair the disruption they caused, Uefa wants to leave this chapter behind and move forward in a positive spirit," said association chief Aleksander Ceferin.

But there could be more power struggles. As reported by the New York Times, Real, Barcelona and Juventus are not only refusing to give up the Super League. Instead, they threaten the other nine clubs with legal action and want to sue for damages.

Twelve European top clubs had shocked three weeks ago with the publication of their plans for a Super League Football Europe.

The Uefa criticized these plans as well as the world association Fifa and several national leagues and associations.

The six English clubs involved - Chelsea FC, Liverpool FC, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur and Arsenal FC - Atlético Madrid and the Milanese clubs Inter and AC had quickly abandoned the plans after massive resistance from their fans, among other things.

German clubs were not among the founders of the Super League.

krä / sid

Source: spiegel

All sports articles on 2021-05-09

You may like

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy