The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

JO: boxer Mourad Aliev disputes his disqualification and wants to finish his fight

2021-08-03T05:12:46.325Z

Considering his elimination as an injustice, the French boxer decided to appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.



French boxer Mourad Aliev, eliminated Sunday from the Tokyo Olympics on disqualification in the +91 kg category, challenged this decision with the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), the court announced on the night of Monday to Tuesday.

"

Mourad Aliev asks for the cancellation

" of this disqualification, and "

the authorization to resume the fight from the beginning of the second round, with a different referee and judges

", explains the CAS, which will decide "as

soon as possible

".

The only Frenchman still in contention in this Olympic boxing tournament, Mourad Aliev had been disqualified for a head butt to his opponent, the British Frazer Clarke, which the boxer had experienced as an injustice.

To discover

  • The full Olympic program

  • The Olympic medal table

Incredulous and angry, Aliev, who seemed to dominate the fight after a given first round winning 3 judges to 2, then went around in circles in the ring, going to see his opponent to tell him: "

I won

". During the fight, Clarke had to be treated twice by the left browbone, and it was after the second treatment that the referee, grouping the boxers, announced his decision to disqualify the French. After the official announced the result by the announcer, the Frenchman then made the “

no

sign

with his fingers in front of the cameras, and remained seated on the edge of the ring several minutes after the decision, refusing to budge.

They admit that they made a mistake but as it is written they cannot go back on the decision. It's a scandal,

”Aliev denounced on France Televisions. But Monday, the director of the cell in charge of organizing the tournament within the IOC had confirmed his elimination, not sanctioning the headbutt but his “

unsportsmanlike behavior

” once the disqualification was pronounced. The French "

acted disrespectfully towards the referee

", "

used profanity through clear gestures

", hit a camera and "

created a very tense atmosphere

", had listed the Australian Wayne Rose.

Source: lefigaro

All sports articles on 2021-08-03

Similar news:

You may like

Trends 24h

Sports 2021-10-26T10:07:39.905Z
Sports 2021-10-26T13:49:54.106Z

Latest

© Communities 2019 - Privacy