The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Spain-France: what does the regulation say about Mbappé's controversial goal?

2021-10-11T09:07:29.204Z

DECRYPTION - Offside at the start of the action, Mbappé scored a controversial goal for the French coronation in the League of Nations final against Spain.



It is a goal that the Spaniards cannot digest.

The France team snatched a coronation in the Nations League final this Sunday, thanks to a goal from Kylian Mbappé 10 minutes from the end of the match (2-1).

A scandal, for the press in the Pyrenees.

The tricolor striker seemed in an offside position on the stealth slow motion seen during the game.

Since then, the screenshots are unequivocal: Mbappé is well offside on the pass from Théo Hernandez.

But in this case, why did the English referee Anthony Taylor validate the goal?

To discover

  • Nations League: schedule and results

To read also "Injustice", "they screw up football": Spain cries scandal after Mbappé's goal

Bruno Derrien, former international referee, “

understands the question

”.

And gives us the reason for the validation of the goal: “

They

(the refereeing body)

consider that the defender

(Eric Garcia)

has put the attacker

(Mbappé)

in play by deflecting the ball.

Simple in appearance.

More complex in reality.

If one refers to the Laws of the Game dictated by the IFAB, a player can be signaled offside without even touching the ball if he "

clearly tries

This article is for subscribers only.

You have 64% left to discover.

To cultivate your freedom is to cultivate your curiosity.

Continue reading your article for € 1 the first month

I ENJOY IT

Already subscribed?

Log in

Source: lefigaro

All sports articles on 2021-10-11

You may like

Trends 24h

Latest

© Communities 2019 - Privacy