The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Foot: "There is a good chance that the offside will be automated in 2022," said Arsène Wenger

2021-10-12T16:15:36.790Z

On the sidelines of the National Refereeing Days, of which he is the sponsor this year, the former Arsenal manager indicated that the offside will undoubtedly be automated on the occasion of the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.



The end of debates about offside positions in football? It may be for tomorrow. In this case, by 2022, this question could indeed be settled in a clear, neat, precise and above all without possible dispute. Like "

goal line technology

", which makes it possible to know without a shadow of a doubt whether the ball has crossed the goal line, the offside could be automated between now and the World Cup. Qatar. This is what Arsène Wenger said on Thursday, on the sidelines of the National Arbitration Days organized by La Poste (October 20-31). Sponsor of this 20th edition, the 71-year-old Alsatian technician also spoke in his capacity as Director of Development of world football with Fifa. "

There is a good chance that the offside will be automated in 2022,

”said the former Arsenal coach on Thursday.

And to specify: “

That is to say at the moment T, there will be a decision transmitted to the linesman.

"

To discover

  • Qualifying rankings for the 2022 World Cup

  • The 2022 World Cup qualifying calendar

Asked about the modalities of this small revolution in the world of football, Mr. Wenger did not want to say much more. "

I am a little bound to secrecy

," he laughed, acknowledging that this is the next major evolution in arbitration. “

I think so,

” he nodded. It remains to be seen whether this system will be really infallible and will put an end to the debates on this kind of situation. "

It already works

», He promises.

Obviously, there is always an exception to remember the rule.

The winning goal of Kylian Mbappé in the final of the League of Nations (2-1), last Sunday, in Milan, is the perfect example.

Yes, the Blues striker was in an offside position at the time of the pass from his teammate, Théo Hernandez.

But, according to the interpretation that is made of Law 11, the Spanish defender Eric Garcia put it in play by touching the ball… In the meantime, the referees will not be unhappy to have this help.

Source: lefigaro

All sports articles on 2021-10-12

You may like

Life/Entertain 2021-10-12T16:21:47.846Z

Trends 24h

Latest

© Communities 2019 - Privacy