The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Tour de France 2022: stages, winners, favourites


At the 109th edition of the Tour de France, Tadej Pogačar is aiming for his third overall victory in a row. The opening individual time trial will take place in Scandinavia this year. Everything you need to know about the Tour of France.

Enlarge image

Can he cheer again at the end?

Tadej Pogačar from Slovenia has recently won the Tour de France twice in a row

Photo: Pete Goding / dpa

Tour de France 2022

For two years, the Tour de France was dominated by the corona crisis.

At the 109th edition, normality should finally return: From July 1st, a total of 23 teams and 184 drivers will be fighting for the coveted yellow jersey.

For the first time this year, three stages lead through Denmark, including the start of the individual time trial in Copenhagen.

On July 24th, the winner will be chosen on the Champs-Elysées in Paris.

The man to beat is again Tadej Pogačar.

After his successes in 2020 and 2021, the Slovenian is again the top favorite.

All stages at a glance

Stage 1, July 1

Copenhagen - Copenhagen (Individual Time Trial in Denmark)

Stage 2, July 2

Roskilde (Denmark) - Nyborg (Denmark)

Stage 3, July 3

Vejle (Denmark) -

Sønderborg (Denmark)

4th stage, July 5

Dunkirk - Calais

Stage 5, July 6

Lille - Arenberg


Stage 6, July 7

Binche (Belgium) - Longwy

Stage 7, July 8

Tomblaine - La super Planche des Belles Filles (Mountain finish)

Stage 8, July 9

Dole - Lausanne (Switzerland)

Stage 9, July 11

Aigle (Switzerland) - Châtel (Alpine stage)

Stage 10, July 12

Morzine - Megève (Alpine stage)

Stage 11, July 13

Albertville - Col du Granon (mountain finish)

Stage 12, July 14

Briancon - Alpe d'Huez

(mountain finish)

Stage 13, July 15

Bourg d'Oisans - Saint-Etienne

Stage 14, July 16

Saint-Etienne - Mende (Massif Central)

Stage 15, July 17

Rodez - Carcassonne

Stage 16, July 19

Carcassonne - Foix (Pyrenees stage)

Stage 17, July 20

Saint-Gaudens - Peyragudes (mountain finish)

Stage 18, July 21

Lourdes - Hautacam (mountain finish)

Stage 19, July 22

Castelnau-Magnoac - Cahors

Stage 20, July 23

Lacapelle-Marival - Rocamadour (Individual Time Trial)

Stage 21, July 24

Paris - Paris

The favourites

Tadej Pogačar is the man of the hour in cycling.

After two tour victories in a row, he has already proven his exceptional qualities this year: At the UAE Tour in the United Arab Emirates, the 23-year-old won ahead of Adam Yates and Pello Bilbao.

Compatriot Primož Roglič is his biggest challenger in the Tour of France.

The Tokyo gold medalist has never won the Tour before.

The French hope above all for Thibaut Pinot.

Germany's currently best rider, Lennard Kämna, will not compete for the yellow jersey despite some notable successes at the Giro d'Italia.

The Tour of France on TV

Cycling fans can be happy:

Eurosport broadcasts

the fight for the yellow jersey every day from noon to the finish line.



shows the stages from about 4:05 p.m.



- an additional offer from the broadcaster - transmission begins half an hour after the start of the stage.

The tour can also be seen in the ARD live stream.

DER SPIEGEL will also report daily from the tour.

Readers are provided with results reports and analysis.

The jerseys

Yellow jersey:

The respective leader of the overall classification rides in the yellow jersey on the stages.

Green jersey:

The respective leader of the points classification drives in the green jersey.

Dotted jersey:

The respective leader of the mountain classification rides in a dotted jersey.

White jersey:

The respective best young driver drives in the white jersey.

A young driver is anyone under the age of 25.

Red shirt number:

The red shirt number is worn by the driver who drove the most aggressively the day before.

This award is given by a specialist jury at the end of each stage.

The Tour winners since 1990

1990: Greg LeMond (USA)

1991: Miguel Indurain (Spain)

1992: Miguel Indurain (Spain)

1993: Miguel Indurain (Spain)

1994: Miguel Indurain (Spain)

1995: Miguel Indurain (Spain)

1996: Bjarne Riis (Denmark)

1997 : Jan Ullrich (Germany)

1998: Marco Pantani (Italy)

1999: Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2000: Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2001: Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2002: Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2003 : Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2004: Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2005: Lance Armstrong (USA) - revoked

2006: Óscar Pereiro (Spain)

2007: Alberto Contador (Spain)

2008: Carlos Sastre (Spain)

2009: Alberto Contador (Spain)

2010: Andy Schleck (Luxembourg)

2011: Cadel Evans (Australia)

2012: Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)

2013: Chris Froome (Great Britain)

2014: Vincenzo Nibali (Italy)

2015 : Chris Froome (Great Britain)

2016: Chris Froome (Great Britain)

2017: Chris Froome (Great Britain)

2018: Geraint Thomas (Great Britain)

2019: Egan Bernal (Colombia)

2020: Tadej Pogačar (Slovenia)

2021: Tadej Pogačar (Slovenia)


Source: spiegel

All sports articles on 2022-06-30

Similar news:

You may like

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy