The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Tour de France 2022: teams and favorites of the competition


The Jumbo Visma, with Roglic and Vingegaard as props, wants to end the reign of Pogacar, who is once again the main candidate

176 cyclists, divided into 22 teams, will form on July 1 to start the 109th edition of the Tour de France.

The peloton will start the race in Copenhagen and go through 21 stages, the first three in Denmark and the next in France, until they reach Paris on July 24, where the king of cycling will be crowned on the Champs-Elysées.

In total, 3,328 kilometers in which they will find five high finishes, two individual time trials and a handful of days full of climbs and dizzying descents.

Everyone wants to wear the yellow


of the leader, but only one will be able to wear it after the last stage.

These are the main candidates:

Tadej Pogacar

(UAE team)

: Winner of the last two Tours in his first two participations, the youngest to achieve it in history, the 23-year-old Slovenian is the great rival to beat for the rest of the peloton.

The young cycling prodigy aspires to win his third consecutive Tour, equaling the feat of Eddy Merckx, who won the first three he contested between 1969 and 1971. This season he has won the UAE Tour, the Tirreno-Adriatico and, recently, the Tour of Slovenia and the Strade Bianche.

Primoz Roglic

(Jumbo Visma team)

: Pogacar's great rival every time the two Slovenians are on the bike.

At 32 years old, he has never won the Tour de France, but he is approaching as the only one capable of avoiding a new Pogacar coronation.

Jumbo has formed a great team around him so that this time he can climb to the top of the podium on the Champs-Élysées.

This year he has won the Paris-Nice and the Dauphiné.

Jonas Vingegaard

(Team Jumbo Visma)

: The second sword of the Jumbo team who has already shown that he can act as the leader and fight for everything.

Last year, before Roglic left at the beginning of the Tour due to a fall, the 25-year-old Dane was the one who faced Pogacar until the last day, although in the end he finished in second position.

Despite the fact that he has a gregarious role in favor of Roglic, he can be a determining factor to squeeze Pogacar on several fronts.

Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe team)

: A step below the three main candidates appears the 26-year-old Russian, who will debut this year in the Tour de France.

He arrives at the best moment of his career after having won this year in the Valencian Community and in the Tour de Romandía.

His positive covid deprived him of also crowning the Tour of Switzerland when he was leading.

The objective of the team, which has just won the Giro with Jai Hindley, is to fight to place him on the podium.

Romain Bardet

(DSM team)

: Consecrated as the team leader, the 31-year-old French cyclist arrives with the conviction that he can once again fight for the Tour de France podium.

In 2016 and 2017 he reached second and third place, respectively, but since then he hasn't come close to the head of the race.

In the last edition that he participated, in 2020, he had to withdraw due to a heavy fall that caused a concussion.

Enric Mas

(Team Movistar)

: The 27-year-old Balearic is the Spaniard with the best chance of finishing in a good position in this Tour de France.

He is the great bet of the Movistar team, with which he has recently renewed.

Fifth in 2020 and sixth in 2021, his objective is to get as close to the podium as possible, and for this he is inspired by his two second places in the last Vueltas a España, in which he fought hand-to-hand with Roglic.

The 22 teams:


: Tadej Pogacar, Marc Soler, Rafal Majka, Brandon McNulty, Matteo Trentin, Vegard Stake Laengen, George Bennett and Mikkel Bjerg.

Jumbo Visma

: Primoz Roglic, Jonas Vingegaard, Wout van Aert, Sepp Kuss, Christophe Laporte, Nathan van Hooydonck, Tiesj Benoot, and Steven Kruijswijk.

BORA – hansgrohe

: Aleksandr Vlasov, Marco Haller, Lennard Kämna, Patrick Konrad, Ryan Mullen, Nils Pollit, Maximiliam Schachmann and Danny van Poppel.


: Romain Bardet, Martijn Tusveld, Nils Eekhoff, Chris Hamilton, Andreas Leknessund, Alberto Dainese, Kevin Vermaerke, and John Degenkolb.

INEOS Grenadiers

: Geraint Thomas, Jonathan Castroviejo, Filippo Ganna, Dylan van Baarle, Daniel Felipe Martínez, Thomas Pidcock, Luke Rowe and Adam Yates.


: Enric Mas, Carlos Verona, Imanol Erviti, Albert Torres, Gorka Izagirre, Matteo Jorgenson, Gregor Muhlberger and Nelson Oliveira.

Lotto Soudal

: Frederik Frison, Philippe Gilbert, Reinardt Janse van Rensburg, Brent van Moer, Tim Wellens, Caleb Ewan, Florian Vermeersch, and Andreas Kros.


: Antoine Duchesne, Valentin Madouas, Olivier Le Gac, Michael Storer, Kevin Geniets, David Gaudu, Thibaut Pinot and Stefan Küng.

Israel - Premier Tech

: Chris Froome, Hugo Houle, Michael Woods, Simon Clarke, Omer Goldstein, Jakob Fuglsang, Daryl Impey and Krists Neilands.

Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl

: Yves Lampaert, Kasper Asgreen, Mattia Cattaneo, Florian Senechal, Andrea Bagioli, Mikkel Honore, Fabio Jakobsen, and Michael Morkov.


: Mathieu van der Poel, Silvan Dillier, Michael Gogl, Alexander Krieger, Jasper Philipsen, Edward Planckaert, Kristian Sbaragli, and Guillaume van Keirsbulck.

AG2R Citroen

: Geoffrey Bouchard, Benoit Cosnefroy, Mikael Cherel, Ben O'Connor, Aurélien Paret-Peintre, Bob Jungels, Oliver Naesen, and Stan Dewulf.


: Guillaume Martin, Bryan Coquard, Simon Geschke, Ion Izagirre, Victor Lafay, Anthony Perez, Benjamin Thomas, and Max Walscheid.

Arkéa Samsic

: Nairo Quintana, Warren Barguil, Maxime Bouet, Amaury Capiot, Hugo Hofstetter, Matis Louvel, Connor Swift and Luksz Owsian

Trek – Segafredo

: Mads Pedersen, Giulio Ciccone, Quinn Simmons, Tony Gallopin, Alex Kirsch, Bauke Mollema, Toms Skujins, and Jasper Stuyven.

Team BikeExchange – Jayco

: Michael Matthews, Jack Bauer, Luke Durburidge, Dylan Groenewegen, Amund Jansen, Christopher Juul-Jensen, Luka Mezgec, and Nick Schultz.


: Peter Sagan, Mciej Bodnar, Mathieu Burgaudeau, Pierre Latour, Daniel Oss, Cristián Rodríguez, Anthony Turgir and Alexis Vuillermoz.

Bahrain – Victorious

: Damino Caruso, Kamil Gradek, Jack Haig, Matej Mohoric, Luis León Sánchez, Dylan Teuns, Jan Tratnik and Fred Wright.

Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux

: Alexander Kristoff, Kobe Goossens, Sven Erik Bystrom, Louis Meintjes, Andrea Pasqualon, Adrien Petit, Taco van der Hoorn and Georg Zimermann.

Astana Qazaqstan

: Fabio Felline, Andrey Zeits, Alexey Lutsenko, Samuele Battistella, Joe Dombrwoski, Dmitriy Gruzdev, Gianni Moscon and Simone Velasco.

EF Education-EasyPost

: Rigoberto Urán, Ruben Guerreiro, Alberto Bettiol, Stefan Bissegger, Magnus Cort, Neilson Powless, and Jonas Rutsch.

B&B Hotels – KTM

: Franck Bonnamour, Cyril Barthe, Alexis Gougeard, Heremey Lecroq, Cyril Lemoine, Luca Mozzato, Pierre Rolland and Sebastian Schonberger.

You can follow EL PAÍS Deportes on




, or sign up here to receive

our weekly newsletter


Source: elparis

All sports articles on 2022-06-30

Similar news:

You may like

News/Politics 2022-06-30T23:39:15.588Z
Sports 2022-06-30T17:33:15.001Z

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy