The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Give them a mirror: this is how the referee of the World Cup final rejected the claims of the French Israel today

2022-12-24T20:49:12.767Z


After the French media claimed that Leo Messi's goal in extra time should have been disallowed because Argentina's players were on the grass, Simon Marchiniak convened a committee and dismissed the accusations in a creative way


Almost a week has passed since the World Cup final but the drama surrounding it continues when the referee of the match - Simon Marciniak - showed a picture on his phone during a press conference he called in which he responded to claims that Leo Messi's goal in extra time should have been disallowed.

Argentina won the final at the Lusail Stadium 2-4 after a penalty shoot-out after the game ended 3-3 after 120 minutes, with Messi scoring twice and Kylian Mbappe scoring a hat-trick for the Tricolore.

Poland's Marciniak, the match referee, faced criticism from the French media that the Flea's goal should have been disallowed because two Argentina substitutes appeared to have entered the field before the ball entered the net.

French newspaper L'Equipe mentioned a FIFA rule that says a referee must disallow a goal if a substitute player is on the pitch when a goal is scored.

"The French complain about Messi's goal but they don't mention this one from Mbappé, where you can see 7 Frenchmen on the field at the time of scoring."



Szymon Marciniak, the referee of the World Cup final. pic.twitter.com /DOWGIF12Ke

— MC (@CrewsMat10) December 23, 2022

Marchiniak responded to the criticism in a unique way.

He showed a screenshot on his phone that showed seven French substitutes entering the pitch as Mbappe scored one of his goals.

"The French didn't mention this picture where you can see how seven of them are on the pitch when Mbappe scores a goal," he said as he picked up the phone while speaking to reporters.

Marciniak's comments came after a petition seeking to replay the final due to his refereeing errors was launched and has so far crossed 220,000 signatures.

According to the regulation, the second goal of Messi, dans la prolongation, aurait dû être refusé par l'arbitre de la rencontre, Szymon Marciniak.

Des remplaçants argentins étaiten, déjà, sur la pelouse avant que le ballon ne dépassé la ligne de but d'Hugo Lloris https://t.co/zR3T2EekCR pic.twitter.com/D8cmoe8xw5

— L'ÉQUIPE (@lequipe) December 19, 2022 Were we wrong?

We will fix it!

If you found an error in the article, we would appreciate it if you shared it with us

Source: israelhayom

All sports articles on 2022-12-24

You may like

Trends 24h

Latest

© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.