Watch: Manor Solomon returned to the courts for the first time since August (Sport 1)
Real Madrid lost today (Saturday) 2:1 to Villarreal and suffered their second loss in total this season, but in their close fight against Barcelona every point is decisive, and the champions know that this is a loss that could cost them dearly at the end of the season.
Barcelona will meet Atletico Madrid tomorrow, and can increase the gap from the Blancos to three points (22:00).
Two events were in focus: the penalty received by Real Madrid, from a rather accidental hand touch in the box, and three minutes later the penalty received by Villarreal (63) which became the winning goal.
According to Thibaut Courtois, the goalkeeper of Real Madrid, it is not clear if the penalty whistled for the Blancos was justified, even though David Alaba clearly touched his hand.
Correct whistles? (Photo: screenshot, from the TV broadcast)
"I didn't talk to the referee, but last week I saw one in the Valladolid game where a penalty was not whistled, and today David, who had one hand on the grass because he slipped and he wanted to get up... In the end, the referee didn't care that it was his supporting hand. He can't It should have been avoided. I don't know what the law is, they never gave us such an example, let's see if in the summer they explain to us what the new law is.
"If you whistle a penalty in our favor, which was a little doubtful because you didn't see the ball, you will whistle that too.
Obviously it was a kind of compensation.
And then we weren't calm enough to close the game well."
Courtois is not afraid, and says: "The season is still long, there are still a lot of games.
Even if we won today and Barca lost tomorrow, it's only a three point difference, it's nothing.
We didn't want to lose, but we knew it was a difficult pitch." According to Carlo Ancelotti, "The better team won, no doubt.
We didn't defend well, we didn't save properly, we didn't play well enough."
According to the refereeing commentator of "AS", Itorella Gonzalez, "I would not whistle for any of the penalties. Touching a hand is a penalty when the hand is in an unnatural area and enlarges the body. But a Villarreal player puts a hand on Vinicius' hand and the ball falls on him from the sky. In my opinion It's not a penalty, but I understand VAR's decision. The live referee didn't whistle it. In the second penalty, Alaba fell. When you fall you put a hand. Where do you want him to put his hand. He didn't try to increase the body, but slipped. In conclusion , the first penalty has an argument for the second one does not."