The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Football: Mbappé and Messi in the race for the Fifa Trophy "The Best"


With 4 players named (Mbappé, Messi, Neymar and Hakimi) out of the 14, PSG will be well represented at the Fifa The Bes Trophy ceremony.

After facing off in the World Cup final, Argentinian Lionel Messi and Frenchman Kylian Mbappé are set to compete for the Fifa The Best Trophy for best player of the year 2022, the list of candidates for which was unveiled on Thursday. .

Neymar, the third member of the "MNM" of Paris Saint-Germain also appears in the nominees like the Ballon d'Or Karim Benzema, the Norwegian prodigy Erling Haaland or the Croatian Luka Modric.

The result will be revealed on February 27.

Football fans can vote on the Internet until February 3 at 11:59 p.m. Paris time.

In early February 2023, Fifa will announce the three finalists in each category.

Since its creation in 2016, only four players have entered their name on the list: Cristiano Ronaldo (2016, 2017), Luka Modric (2018), Lionel Messi (2019) and Robert Lewandowski (2020, 2021).

Here are the nominees for #TheBest FIFA Player!


Cast your vote for your men's and women's player on FIFA+!


— FIFA World Cup (@FIFAWorldCup) January 12, 2023

Among the women, the Spanish double Golden Ball Alexia Putellas, the Englishwoman Beath Mead or the Australian Sam Kerr are in the running.

For the best coach trophy, World Cup finalists Didier Deschamps (France) and Lionel Scaloni (Argentina) face Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), the Champions League winner with Real Madrid, Carlo Ancelotti and Morocco coach Walid Regragui, fourth in the World Cup and winner of the African Champions League with Wydad Casablanca.

The International Federation also rewards the best coach, the best goalkeeper and the best goalkeeper, and also plans a supporter's trophy and the Puskas award for goal of the year, for which Kylian Mbappé, for his volley in the world final, or the heel of the English Alessia Russo in the semi-finals of the Euro.

The 14 named players:

Aitana Bonmatí (ESP - Barcelona)

Debinha (BRE - North Carolina Courage)

Jessie Fleming (CAN-Chelsea)

Ada Hegerberg (NOR - Lyon)

Sam Kerr (AUS-Chelsea)

Beth Mead (ENG - Arsenal)

Vivianne Miedema (PB - Arsenal)

Alex Morgan (USA - Orlando Pride and San Diego Wave)

Lena Oberdorf (GER - Wolfsburg)

Alexandra Popp (GER - Wolfsburg)

Alexia Putellas (ESP - Barcelona)

Wendie Renard (FRA - Lyon)

Keira Walsh (ENG - Manchester City and Barcelona)

Leah Williamson (ENG - Arsenal)

The 14 named players:

Julián Alvarez (ARG - River Plate and Manchester City)

Jude Bellingham (ENG - Borussia Dortmund)

Karim Benzema (FRA - Real Madrid)

Kevin De Bruyne (BEL-Manchester City)

Erling Haaland (NOR - Borussia Dortmund and Manchester City)

Achraf Hakimi (MAR - PSG)

Robert Lewandowski (POL - FC Bayern Munich and Barcelona)

Sadio Mané (SEN - Liverpool and Bayern Munich)

Kylian Mbappé (FRA - PSG)

Lionel Messi (ARG-PSG)

Luka Modric (CRO - Real Madrid)

Neymar (BRE-PSG)

Mohamed Salah (EGY - Liverpool)

Vinicius Junior (BRE - Real Madrid)

The 6 named coaches:

Sonia Bompastor (FRA - Lyon)

Emma Hayes (ENG - Chelsea)

Bev Priestman (ENG - Canada)

Pia Sundhage (SWE - Brazil)

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (GER - Germany)

Sarina Wiegman (NL - England and Netherlands)

The 5 nominated coaches:

Carlo Ancelotti (ITA-Real Madrid)

Didier Deschamps (FRA - France)

Pep Guardiola (ESP-Manchester City)

Walid Regragui (MAR - Wydad Casablanca and Morocco)

Lionel Scaloni (ARG - Argentina)

The 6 goalkeepers named:

Ann-Katrin Berger (GER - Chelsea)

Mary Earps (ENG - Manchester United)

Christiane Endler (CHL - Lyon)

Merle Frohms (GER - Eintracht Frankfurt and Wolfsburg)

Alyssa Naeher (USA - Chicago Red Stars)

Sandra Paños García-Villamil (ESP - Barcelona)

The 5 appointed guardians:

Alisson Becker (BRE-Liverpool)

Yassine Bounou (MAR - Sevilla)

Thibaut Courtois (BEL-Real Madrid)

Ederson (BRE - Manchester City)

Emiliano Martinez (ARG - Aston Villa)

The 11 nominated for the Puskás Award for the most beautiful goal:

Mario Balotelli (ITA): Adana Demirspor - Goztepe Izmir (22/5/22)

Amandine Henry (FRA): Barcelona - Lyon (21/5/22)

Théo Hernández (FRA): AC Milan - Atalanta Bergamo (15/5/22)

Alou Kuol (AUS): Iraq - Australia U20 (4/6/22)

Kylian Mbappé (FRA): Argentina - France (18/12/22)

Francisco González Metilli (ARG): Central Cordoba - Rosario Central (1/8/22)

Marcin Oleksy (POL): Warta Poznan - Stal Rzeszow (6/11/2222)

Salma Paralluelo (ESP): Barcelona - Villarreal (2/4/22)

Dimitri Payet (FRA): OM - PAOK Thessaloniki (7/4/22)

Richarlison (BRE): Brazil - Serbia (24/11/22)

Alessia Russo (ENG): England - Sweden (26/7/22)

Source: leparis

All sports articles on 2023-01-12

You may like

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.