The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

The elected representatives of the Republic speak to the elected representatives of the FFR


LE FIGARO / TRIBUNE - About fifty political figures have signed a collective text calling on the Steering Committee of the French Rugby Federation, "clearly disavowed", to resign. A forum published exclusively by Le Figaro.

“For a long time, rugby was considered the school of life.

We learned the principles of life there: solidarity, altruism, respect for the adversary, the referee, those who gave the club the means to exist.

Among these principles, that of respect for democracy, seems to us essential to the functioning of our Nation as well as to the functioning of institutions such as the French Rugby Federation.

We heard with satisfaction its leaders, led in 2016 by Bernard Laporte, wanting to further democratize this institution.

Isn't this the best way to best meet the expectations of amateur clubs?

Sporting expectations of course, but also societal expectations so that Rugby is really a school of life and that the Federation plays its role of "intermediate body" in terms of public sports policy in France.

Read also Florian Grill: “Let the FFR Steering Committee wake up from the nightmare they are causing French rugby to live …”

Today, this momentum is broken by the inconsistency of the current leaders of the FFR, which is damaging for Rugby but more broadly for democracy.

Twice, the majority of amateur clubs expressed their distrust of the leaders of this Federation.

First during a financial General Assembly last December then, in a more massive way, with an exceptional participation of more than 90%, during a recent referendum which aimed to restore to these elected representatives a legitimacy lost after the withdrawal of their President following a conviction at first instance for corruption.

"We invite the current leaders to respect the recommendations of the State and to draw the conclusions of the recent election by submitting their results to the vote of the clubs as soon as possible."

Clearly disavowed, the Steering Committee of the FFR nevertheless decided to remain in power by considering that the referendum had no value and by dissociating itself from its President who, himself, resigned.

Worse, the members of this same Steering Committee rejected the word of the State by declaring "to make fun" of the opinion of the Minister of Sports and the Olympic and Paralympic Games, totally ignoring the efforts of the regions and the State who provided financial support for the event and without whom world-class events cannot take place.

Respect for the State, for democracy and for the expression of voters cannot be negotiated: it is, in France,

Read alsoRugby: Alexandre Martinez appointed interim president of the FFR

So that Rugby is again a school of life, so that this magnificent sport is supported by a legitimate Federation and that France can celebrate its "Blues" on the occasion of a successful World Cup, we invite the leaders present to respect the recommendations of the State and to draw the conclusions of the recent election by submitting their results to the vote of the clubs as soon as possible.

List of signatories

Christine Bonfanti-Dossat

: Senator from Lot-et-Garonne

Henri Cabanel

: Senator from Hérault

Jean-Pierre Corbisez

: Senator from Pas de Calais

Éric Gold

: Senator from Puy-de-Dôme

André Guiol

: Senator from Var

Olivier Henno

: Secretary general of the UDI, senator from the North

Jean-Jacques Lozach

: senator from Creuse

Jean-Yves Roux

: senator from Alpes-de-Haute-Provence

Naïma Moutchou

: deputy from Val-d'Oise, vice-president of the Assembly National

Stéphane Travert

: former minister, deputy for Manche

Quentin Bataillon

: deputy for Loire

Ian Boucard

: deputy for Belfort

Céline Calvez

: deputy for Hauts-de-Seine

François Cormier-Bouligeon

: deputy for Cher

Paul Christophe

: deputy for Nord

Arthur Delaporte

: deputy for Calvados

Julien Dive

: deputy for Aisne

Virginie Duby-Muller

: deputy for Haute -Savoie

Pierre-Henri Dumont

: MP for Pas de Calais

Jean-Luc Fugit

: MP for Rhône

Bruno Millième

: MP for Yvelines

Maxime Minot

: MP for Oise

Claudia Rouaux

: MP for Ille et Villaine

Aurélien Taché

: MP for Val -d'Oise

Jerome Dumont

: President of the Meuse General Council

Emmanuel Alzuri

: Mayor of Bidart

Filipe Aramendi

: Mayor of Urrugne

Olivier Bianchi

: Mayor of Clermont-Ferrand

Jean-François Debat

: Mayor and President of the Bourg-en-Bresse conurbation

Louis Giscard d 'Estaing

: former vice-president of the National Assembly, mayor of Chamalières

Samuel Hazard

: mayor and president of the agglomeration of Verdun

Thibault Humbert

: mayor of Eragny-sur-Oise, regional councilor Île-de-France

Jean-Jacques Lopez

: mayor of Salses and president of the community of municipalities of Salanque-Corbières

Gerard Lucien

 : mayor of Treilles

Vincent Novès

 : mayor of Balma

Romain Grau

: former deputy, municipal councilor of Perpignan

Émile Mouheb

: deputy mayor of Cernay

Wilfrid Pailhes

: municipal councilor of Bourg-lès-Valence

Quentin Lagallarde

: regional councilor of Normandy

Eric Schahl

: general delegate of the UDI, Île-de-France regional councilor

Jean-Paul Baquet

: honorary deputy for Puy-de-Dôme

Régis Juanico

: former deputy for Loire

Alain Péréa

: former deputy for Aude

François Rochebloine

: former deputy for Loire

Antoine Savignat

: former MP for Val-d'Oise

Gérard Terrier

: former MP for Moselle

Source: lefigaro

All sports articles on 2023-02-03

You may like

News/Politics 2023-03-15T17:13:13.483Z

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.