The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Soccer World Cup 2030: Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay apply to host


100 years after the first World Cup, the tournament is also set to celebrate its anniversary in South America. The associations from Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay hope so. Competition could beckon from Saudi Arabia.

Enlarge image

In 2022, the World Cup went to Argentina, eight years later it could be awarded there

Photo: Tom Weller / dpa

The South American countries Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay have officially applied to host the 2030 World Cup.

The presidents of the four football associations and the head of the South American Football Association (Conmebol), Alejandro Domínguez, presented the joint application under the motto "2030 Juntos" (2030 Together) on Tuesday at the AFA grounds near the capital Buenos Aires.

The associations had already announced last year that they wanted to bring the World Cup back to South America 100 years after the first World Cup in Uruguay in 1930.

A tournament for the »entire continent«

“We dream of hosting this championship again in its 100th year.

We South Americans are all very passionate, we live football that way,” said Argentine FA chief Claudio Tapia.

Argentina's President Alberto Fernández suggested including neighboring Bolivia in the group of applicants.

“This candidacy belongs to the whole continent.

That's why I want Bolivia to be part of this dream," he wrote on Twitter.

The world association Fifa will decide on the host of the 2030 World Cup in early 2024. Spain, Portugal and Ukraine also want to jointly apply to host the 2030 World Cup.

The governments of Bulgaria and Greece had already announced a joint candidacy with Romania and Serbia in 2018.

Fifa also brought up a World Cup in Israel and other countries from the region.

According to the media, Saudi Arabia is considering bidding alongside Egypt and Greece.

The first World Cup was played in Uruguay in 1930.

Although there were no qualifications and virtually any country could participate, just 13 national teams took part in the first World Cup in winter in the southern hemisphere - including only four from Europe.

Hosts Uruguay finally crowned themselves the first football world champions after beating arch-rivals Argentina.


Source: spiegel

All sports articles on 2023-02-07

Similar news:

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy

The information on this site is from external sources that are not under our control.
The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.