Dura lex, sed lex (the law is hard but it is the law). The pair Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi opposed to the duo Bouzkova-Sorribes Tormo in the women's doubles draw this Sunday was excluded in the 8th finals after a rare incident. In the middle of the second set, Japan's Miyu Kato wanted to put the ball back on the other side of the court with a racquet stroke without looking precisely where she was aiming. Big mistake, because if she had no intention of targeting someone, the ball landed in the opposite corner of the court... in the head of a ball catcher.
- Roland Garros Men's Singles
- Roland Garros Women's Singles
The player was first given a warning before her opponents intervened with the referee. The duo Bouzkova-Sorribes Tormo went to alert the latter of the condition of the crying teenager. The latter, after having minimized the incident by claiming that the collector "was not injured", logically revised his position. He agreed to get down from his chair to talk to the teenager.
Read alsoRoland-Garros 2023: "It's stupid", the players irritated by the many tickets for resale for the first session of the women's night
Embarrassed, Miyu Kato then came to apologize to the latter, assuring her that she had obviously not purposely shot him in the head. After consultation between the referee and a supervisor, the award fell: a ban on the field of Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi, leaving Kato alone to face his mistake, inconsolable and in turn in tears on the field.