On Sunday, Japanese player Miyu Kato and her partner Aldila Sutjiadi were disqualified from the women's doubles draw for an unintentional ball throw that ended up in the head of a young ball collector bursting into tears in the process.
- Roland Garros Men's Singles
- Roland Garros Women's Singles
Read alsoRoland-Garros 2023: a pair of doubles excluded for touching a ball collector in the head
The decision of the tournament which took several minutes to fall after intervention on the court of Rémy Azémar, the referee, has spilled a lot of ink. Especially since the player, who apologized for her gesture to the ball collector, then on social networks, had, like her partner, had to return her prize money (21,500 euros). She had left the court in tears after this unfortunate incident.
Several players, including Alizé Cornet, have given their support to Miyu Kato. "It's unfair, it's a bad decision. I hope the tournament will give him his money back. The opposite would be crazy. It shouldn't have happened. Yesterday (Sunday), we reached a peak of injustice. Especially Kato!...
This article is for subscribers only. You still have 74% to discover.
Want to read more?
Unblock all items immediately.
TEST FOR 0,99€
Already a subscriber? Log