- Roland Garros Men's Singles
- Roland Garros Women's Singles
Holger Rune did not only make friends at Roland Garros in the ranks of the public Monday afternoon. The fiery Dane totally lacked fair play on a ball that could have been one of the turning points of the 8th final against Argentinian Francesco Cerrundolo.
The score was 30-30 on the South American's serve then leading two games to one in the second set when the latter placed a beautiful forehand attack that the Scandinavian put back into play... after a second rebound. Cerundolo then stopped playing at first, thinking he had scored the point, but the referee attributed it to Rune to everyone's amazement.
Certifying that the ball had indeed doubled, Cerundolo protested but the decision was confirmed by the referee who sanctioned the fact that the 23rd player in the world had disrupted the course of the point.
Rune was careful not to intervene in the debate to restore the truth and offer the gain of the exchange to his opponent. The Argentine ended up resuming his place on the court ironically congratulating the referee. In the aftermath, the Dane hastened to convert his break ball to fly to the score and lead 3-1.