While the duel between Alcaraz and Djokovic was in full swing with a beautiful show, the match changed when the Spaniard injured his right calf at the beginning of the third set on a seemingly harmless movement at 1-1. His opponent immediately came to his side to take news. While he had just lost the game the Spaniard indicated that he had a cramp and asked for a medical timeout. This is forbidden because the cramp is not considered an injury. As a result, he lost the next game, the third of the set, on the green carpet. He found himself leading 2-1, without a fight.
- Roland Garros Men's Singles
- Roland Garros Women's Singles
And the public, unfamiliar with this complex regulation, scolded when the referee announced the score of 2-1 in favor of the Serb. If Alcaraz had declared an injury at the time of his support, he would have been entitled to immediate medical timeout. Honesty doesn't always pay off.