The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2019: Three Battery Researchers Awarded


The Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided: John Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry is the highest honor for chemists. He is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and is endowed with nine million Swedish krona since this year. That's about 830,000 euros.

The prize has been awarded since 1901. Seiher was there, the now excellent scientists not included, 181 prize winners, including 176 men and five women. The Briton Frederick Sanger was the only winner twice to win the prize: in 1958 for the reconstitution of the insulin structure and in 1980 together with Paul Berg and Walter Gilbert for work to determine the sequence of bases in the genome.

Chemistry was also the research focus of Nobel Prize founder Alfred Nobel. In 2019, Frances Arnold, Gregory Winter and George Smith received the award. Arnold was awarded the prize for the development of environmentally friendly enzymes, for example to produce biofuel. Winter and Smith have developed methods to create highly targeted antibodies against disease (read more here).

more on the subject

Academy in Stockholm "Secrecy nourishes the myth Nobel Prize"

This year's Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded to the Canadian James Peebles and the Swiss Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz on Tuesday. Peebles was honored for his theoretical work on the evolution of the universe. Mayor and Queloz first discovered a planet outside of our solar system in 1995, revolving around a sun-like star (read more here).

The Nobel Prize for Medicine 2019 went to William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza and Peter Ratcliffe *. The researchers have been awarded for their studies on the oxygen supply of cells (read more here).

Soon more at SPIEGEL.

Source: spiegel

Similar news:

You may like

Trends 24h

Tech/Game 2020-07-14T04:00:24.139Z


tech 2020/07/13    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy