WhatsApp (Photo: ShutterStock)
A bug originating from source code in the WhatsApp app is among the most serious to hit the messaging platform. The vulnerability actually makes it possible, by sending a simple linksent to Android users, to cause the app to crash completely, and even worse, it can cause people to delete the content completely. As we know, in order to avoid the link, some people may delete all their information, even though they don't really need to.
Of course, we don't encourage trolling, but if you still want to harass your friends, in a tweet you'll find the code to copy into the content of the message. The link can be sent by anyone - even to groups, thus causing disruption more widely. What should I do to avoid deleting your content altogether? First, if you received the link from a specific person - you can ask them to delete the message, or go to the browser version of WhatsApp (Web) and delete the message yourself. Alternatively, you can single-handedly delete the conversation from the person who sent you the link, and block it.
Tom Malka, Head of Cyber Research at Rakia Group, explains in a conversation with Walla! Technology "Because this is a bug that as of this writing affects only Android operating systems, it is important to note that this is not a vulnerability and there is no danger to the user except for the application crashing until the line is deleted from WhatsApp Web, it should be noted that the bug was maliciously used to crash various groups."
- Privacy & Security