The Limited Times

Now you can see non-English news...

From denial to acceptance, are there really five stages of grief?


PSYCHOLOGY - Any break would drag us into this five-beat dance. But grieving seems to be a more complex process…

Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance... It's a model that we all have in mind: "mourning" would involve going through five phases, the highlighting of which, attributed to the American psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, dates back to the 1960s.

Everyone would go through these stages after the death of a loved one, but also of an animal and even during any symbolic mourning, such as a breakup or a dismissal.

Ultimately, any unwanted abrupt change associated with a loss would be a five-step obstacle course.

What about in reality?

Do we necessarily go through these stages, in that order?

Observations on the Dying

First surprise, it is in fact first to the dying that Elisabeth Kübler-Ross devoted herself.

“She is a pioneer in palliative care and support.

Marked by the war, she chose to study the end of life at a time when we no longer wanted to hear about it.

She goes to meet those who face the announcement of their own…

This article is for subscribers only.

You have 80% left to discover.

Pushing back the limits of science is also freedom.

Keep reading your article for €0.99 for the first month


Already subscribed?


Source: lefigaro

All tech articles on 2022-12-04

You may like

News/Politics 2023-01-14T08:26:57.894Z

Trends 24h


© Communities 2019 - Privacy